September 29, 2022

The TNM, a political movement led by Kwankwaso, adopts the NNPP

Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso

The National Movement (TNM), led by Senator Rabiu Kwankwaso, former Governor of Kano Stateadopted the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP) as its political platform to pursue its goal of gaining power in the 2023 general election.

The National Chairman of the Party’s Interim Committees, Retired AVM John Ifeimeje revealed this during a press conference held by the movement’s Protem leadership on Monday in Abuja.

The TNM, launched on February 22, is a group of concerned and patriotic Nigerians from the 36 States and the FCT who are worried about the state of the nation and have agreed to work together to win the elections in 2023.

Ifeimeje said that in line with the objectives of the TNM, the movement decided to merge and adopt the NNPP in order to continue its struggle to save the country from maladministration, incompetence and impunity, insecurity, corruption and poverty, among others.

“The TNM therefore merged with the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

Read also: The Republic of Benin releases Igboho from detention on Sunday

“TNM members embraced and agreed to join the NNPP because of the overwhelming similarity between the Party and the TNM.

“The similarity lies in their goals and objectives, their mission and vision, their core values ​​and core beliefs and the shared patriotic tendencies of the leaders and members of NNPP and TNM.”

Ifeimeje said the merger of the two main Nigerian patriotic fronts had already been consummated.

He added that the NNPP has already appointed interim committees at the state and national levels with mandates, among others, to hold congresses and conventions with the aim of electing substantive cadres.

According to Ifeimeje, the National Interim Committee is composed of Dr. Boniface Aniebonam as Chairman of the Board of Directors (BOT), Ifeimeje as National Chairman, Senator Suleiman Hunkuyi as Vice Chairman.

Others according to him, include Oladipo Olayoku as National Secretary, Dr. Ajuji Ahmed as Deputy National Secretary, Major Agbo, National Publicity Secretary, Prof. Rufa’I Alkali, National Organizing Secretary, Professor Bem Angwe, National Legal Adviser.

Chief Abba, National Finance Secretary, Ms. Elizabeth Aliu, National Auditor, Hajia Maryam Yasin, National Women’s Leader, Mohammed Dansada, National Youth Leader, and Ann Obut, National Welfare Secretary, are also part of the party. .

Ifeimeje said the interim state committees would be inaugurated in due course.

He added that the party had approved the timetable for the conduct of its congresses and conventions.

These, he said, are in line with the provisions of the NNPP constitution and in line with the calendar of electoral activities published by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

He listed the dates to include March 30 for the national convention, March 28 for area conventions, March 19 for local government conventions and March 15 for neighborhood conventions.

He expressed optimism that Nigerians would continue to join the NNPP en masse. (NOPE)