November 30, 2022

Political candidates nominated for the Swakopmund by-election

Staff reporter

THE Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) has announced the conclusion of the nomination process for the various candidates representing the parties for the Swakopmund Constituency Regional Council by-election, which is scheduled to take place on 12 August 2022.

The nominated candidate for the United Democratic Front of Namibia (UDF) is Dantu Zerold, while Dausab Rodger is the nominated candidate for the Namibia Economic Freedom Fighters (NEFF).

Kativa Louisa will represent the Independent Patriots for Change (IPC), Musheka Tangeni will represent the Landless Peoples Movement, Salomon Nehemia the SWAPO party, Von Seydlitz-Kurzbach the United Peoples Movement and Pascheka Lelani the People’s Democratic Movement (PDM).

Finally, Narib Williward will stand as an independent candidate.

Theo Mujoro, the Chief Electoral Officer of the ECN, said the commission would now proceed with inviting companies to submit bids for the printing of ballot papers in accordance with the guidelines of the Public Procurement Act. The award of the offer will take place on July 18, 2022.

All nominated candidates will be asked to verify the accuracy of the final ballot sample on July 29, 2022.

Regarding the dispatch of sensitive election materials, Mujoro said that all materials for the by-election will be dispatched between August 5 and 6 under the strict security and escort of the Namibian Police. The material will be placed in a safe place at a police station in the district.

A total number of 145 scrutineers will be recruited to constitute 29 teams, 26 fixed teams and 3 mobile teams for the conduct of the by-election. The training of political party agents and police officers will take place from August 4 to 5, 2022, while the training of election agents for the by-election will take place from August 6 to 8, 2022.

Mujoro added that the Supplementary Voter Registration (SRV) exercise was successfully conducted from June 6 to 8 in accordance with Article 38 (l) of the Electoral Law 5 of 2014.

“Registered voters for the constituency prior to the conduct of the SRV were 35,281, while during the SRV a total of 1,716 eligible voters registered consisting of new applications (713) and change of address (1003 ), carrying the provisional voters number 36,997. A total number of 911 duplicate cards were issued during the SRV period,” Mujoro said.

In accordance with article 49 of the electoral law, the voter education campaign for the next by-election will be intensified from July 18, 2022.

In an effort to boost voter turnout and increase turnout in the upcoming Swakopmund Constituency by-election, materials explaining the voting procedure, how to vote using ballot papers and proper marking ballots were produced in various languages ​​shared by Mujoro.

In addition to this, he noted that the ECN will use various media to maximize its reach, including the national language services of the Namibian Broadcasting Corporation (NBC), as well as its own website and social media platforms.

Stock photo for illustrative purposes only.