September 29, 2022

Oregon political candidates step up campaigns

Salem, Oregon. – The deadline to file a candidacy for the May primary election as a Republican or Democrat has come and gone. Now we have a better idea of ​​who is running for office this year in Oregon.

Oregon State Senate

State Senator Jeff Golden, a Democrat, is seeking re-election for the first time. First term of Medford Mayor Randy sparacino will run against him as a Republican to represent much of Jackson County. The longtime MPD officer retired as chief just a few years ago. Talented sculptor Kevin Christmas is also in the running as a Republican.

State Representatives in Rogue Valley

Starting furthest south, Ashland State Rep. Pam Marsh is seeking another term in Salem. She will face a familiar enemy in Republican Sandra Abercrombiewhich she has already beaten several times.

Republican State Representative from Medford Kim Valan is challenged by engineer and Democrat Dan Davis.

Grants Pass Republican Lily Morgan will likely face retired Air Force veteran and Democrat Brady Keister in autumn.

It doesn’t look like any of those current lawmakers will face primary opposition in May.

Jackson County Commissioner

Former State Legislator and Mayor of Medford Al Densmore seeks to return to local politics, this time as Jackson County Commissioner. Densmore His political career in southern Oregon dates back to the 1970s when he served multiple terms in the state House of Representatives. He later became mayor of Medford and also served on the city council.

Last summer, Densmore joined several other current and former Jackson County leaders in calling on Jackson County Commissioners to take an active leadership role and speak out more about the COVID crisis in the county.

Densmore said he plans to run as an independent against Jackson County Commissioner Colleen Roberts. The Republican was first elected to the Board of Commissioners in 2014.

Jackson County Commissioner Rick Dyer was also re-elected to the Board of Commissioners in 2014. He will be challenged in the general election this fall by Ashland Democrat Denise. Krauss. According to her file, she is a retired university professor specializing in epidemiology.

Josephine County Commissioner

The race for Josephine County Commissioner is packed. Take a look at all the nominees: Jordan DeHarty, Brian DeLaGrange, Mark Jones, Virgil Marler, Gary Richardson, Mark J. Seligman, Neigel Von Hruska, James Ward and John West.

First-term Josephine County Commissioner Darin Fowler recently announced he would not be seeking re-election after previously deposing him. Now, a total of nine candidates will be vying for the only open seat on the Josephine County Board of Commissioners.

United States House of Representatives

U.S. Representative Cliff Benz will face some competetion as he seeks re-election in Washington for the first time. The Republican from Ontario, Oregon faces a host of challengers. On his side of the aisle, he will face Brett cahillMark Caveman and Katherine Gallant.

In the Democratic primary, Adam Prine and Jo However seek to win the support of their party.

Copyright 2022 California-Oregon Broadcasting, Inc.