November 25, 2022

Inday Sara’s political party wins majority of local and national positions

Hugpong ng Pagbabago (HNP) of Vice President-elect Sara Duterte, the regional ruling party in the Davao region, dominated the 2022 elections with the majority of its candidates elected.

This year’s elections recorded 233 winning PNH members among 412 candidates.

One of the declared winners was the representative of the Lone District of Davao Occidental, Claude Bautista, president of the PNH. The first member of Congress has served the province as a two-term governor since 2016.

The current vice-governor of Davao de Oro, Maricar Zamora, also successfully sealed her return as a representative of the first district.

Governor Jayvee Tyron Uy, who is the party’s treasurer, will serve as Davao de Oro’s sixth vice governor. Davao del Norte was also able to get back on their feet after dominating numbers in their electoral positions.

Former councilman Oyo Uy is now the new vice governor of the province while his father, who currently sits as vice governor, won the race for mayor of Tagum City.

The representative of the second district, Alan Dujali, was re-elected for a second term.

Both Davao de Oro and Daveo del Norte have seven PNH members out of 10 Sangguniang Panlalawigan winning members.

PNH members and their Parti Nacionalista allies also dominated elections in Davao del Sur and Davao Oriental.

Voters also elected members of the PNH in Davao City.

Re-elected Representatives Paolo Duterte (First Constituency), Vincent Garcia (Second Constituency) and Isidro Ungab (Third Constituency) also won their respective candidacies for a second term.

Sebastian Duterte also won as the city’s new mayor by a huge vote margin against his opponent.

HNP is Sara Duterte’s regional party established in 2018 which has urged all provinces to pursue economic growth in the Davao region.